Do you offer a complete arrive and drive package?

Yes- We have a number of vehicle lease options for both the Targa Tour and the Targa Competition depending on your budget and experience we have something for every level of skill all designed to give you the maximum enjoyment. For details please contact Peter Martin on +6492988322 or email

Can my vehicle be transported for me?

Yes – from anywhere in the world or within New Zealand. Targa New Zealand has a strong working relationship with an international shipping agent as well as relationships with domestic carriers, which enables us to customize all of your vehicle transport needs. As an example a typical all inclusive return journey price from an eastern port of Australia to Auckland is approximately NZ$4000. Terms and conditions apply.

What type of license do I require to compete?

Both driver & co-driver will require a AASA National Tarmac Rally Licence if you’re intending on competing in the Targa Competition. 
This can be obtained by visiting AASA at

Targa Competition participants will require a AASA “National Tarmac Rally Licence”.
If you currently hold a National Rally Licence issued by the ASN of your country then please contact the Targa Office to obtain a pricing discount code to recognise your existing experience before you complete the online Licence application.

What is the content in the Road book?

Targa New Zealand uses a comprehensive Road Book with “tulips” to advise of cautions on route. No reconnaissance is allowed.
As of 2020, Targa New Zealand has introduced the use of Safety Notes.

What safety equipment is needed in the car?

Competition vehicles are required to adhere to the AASA Standing Regulations for Tarmac Rallies and the AASA National Competition Rules.

What safety equipment is needed for the driver & co-driver?

The driver & co-driver of a competition vehicle are required to meet the AASA Safety Apparel Standards (i.e helmet, gloves, race suit and boots). A head and neck restraint device (such as HANS) is mandatory for drivers and co-drivers in all Targa New Zealand events.